Select Page

    Faculty Council


    The mission of RBHS Faculty Council is to represent the RBHS faculty in matters that affect either the entire University or all of RBHS. It allows faculty members a formal mechanism to ensure that they play an active role in shaping the academic, educational, clinical, and public service missions and activities of RBHS and the University.

    Through the Council, the faculty of RBHS may exercise its rights and responsibilities to participate in shared institutional governance, strategic planning, faculty initiatives, and implementation and promotion of the University’s mission and goals. It allows the aggregate faculty of RBHS a voice in the Rutgers Senate.

    The Faculty Council promotes interaction and communication among the faculties and faculty organizations of constituent schools while respecting the prerogatives and responsibilities of the existing school-based faculty organizations and works with those organizations on matters affecting the entire University or all of RBHS. The Council also provides a forum for communication and interaction between faculty and administration.

    The Council is an expression of faculty unity and a reflection of RBHS’ unique position within Rutgers University and its manifold missions in the region and beyond.

    The Council elects its officers annually in December. Officers serve two-year terms that begin January 1. The elected representatives from the RBHS schools establish the composition, administrative structure, and governance of the Faculty Council.


    Faculty Council Officers

    President:  Larry Frohman, New Jersey Medical School

    President Elect:  Laura Liang, School of Public Health

    Secretary:  William Halperin, School of Public Health

    Finance Chair:  Gary Brewer, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

    Clinical Co-Chairs: Sangeeta Lamba, New Jersey Medical School

                                       Laura Willett, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

    Bylaws Chair:  Nancy Kirsch, School of Health Professions

    At Large Members of Executive Committee:  Pamela Rothpletz-Puglia, School of Health Professions


    Faculty Council Members

    Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy

     Mary Bridgeman      
     Bozena Michniak-Kohn      
     Guofeng You      

    New Jersey Medical School


    Rutgers School of Dental Medicine

     Anil Ardeshna
     Roger Johansen
     Asha Samant

    Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

     Gary Brewer
     Dalya Chefitz
     Vivien Hsu
     Zhiping Pang
     John Pintar
     Archana Pradhan
     Laura Willett

    School of Graduate Studies

     Monica Roth

    School of Health Professions


    School of Nursing

     Joseph Boney
     David (Tony) Forrester
     Mary Kamienski

    School of Public Health

     William Halperin
     Laura Liang
     Thomas Mackie
    Faculty Council Meeting Schedule

    Meetings are held monthly from 1:30pm-3:00pm. See below for the 2019 meeting schedule.

    • Friday January 18, 2019
    • Friday February 15, 2019
    • Friday March 29, 2019
    • Monday April 22, 2019
    • Monday May 20, 2019
    • Monday June 17, 2019
    • Monday July 15, 2019
    • Friday August 16, 2019
    • Monday September 16, 2019
    • Friday October 18, 2019
    • Monday November 18, 2019
    • Friday December 20, 2019